On Thriller Street - stories

On Thriller Street    Bookshop    Contact

Night Shots: Suspense Series by John Argo

=  Broken Wing  =

Welcome to Metrolith City in the near future, where a love story is unfolding amid danger, mystery, and books. We feel right at home amid city lights glowing in the night, and a mixture of good and evil under an alluring city scape. Jack Martin is a young PTSD-suffering veteran turned VA investigator, who is always in the wrong place at the wrong moment, in both war and peace. Or is it war and pieces? A mad bomber is about to create a new 9/11--unless he can be stopped just in the nick of time.

The two major women in Jack Martin's life are a cockatiel named Lucy and an exotic boss who's like an office pharaoh--no sign of romance or allure on the horizon for Jack.Now Jack meets a beautiful if mysterious bookstore owner named Rose Fennel. Rose is an intriguing widow with a story that puts Jack Martin's biography in the shade.

Each of these characters (including the bird) has a broken wing in their own way. Just as Jack is starting to get near first base with Rose Fennel, a mad bomber wants to kill thousands of innocent people--starting in her bookstore. The bomber looks like a typical book browser, loitering among Rose Fennel's YANAPOP titlesYoung Adult, New Adult, Participating Older Persons. Rose Fennel is an original, with great marketing ideas.

As the bomber gets ready to strike, Jack and the rest of the VA cops are caught off guard.

What happens next, and what Rose Fennel does, will surprise you. It surprised even the author, who wrote the story, and has never been the same since..


click to read free or buy - opens a new windowRead Free at Galley City (Fiction). You can now read the entire text free at my Galley City website, with the option to buy if you wish. For the price of a cup of coffee, you can buy the e-book (no obligation). The coffee is gone in minutes, but the e-book (or p-book) is yours forever, and the author appreciates your kindness. Thank you!

No print edition currently available. Kindle e-book only.

Browse or Buy at Amazon

The book linked at left is an e-book edition to browse; or buy & download from Amazon for your Kindle reader.
     The middle link is for the corresponding print edition. Most of these are standard 6x9"; a few have added trim sizes available (5x8"). More info at Amazon.com.
     Most print editions are also available at Barnes & Noble online; or call/visit your local bookstore to order.

click to return to bookstore